Monday, June 19, 2017

Make your ideas known through public comment to our Lafayette Parish Council.

Have you wanted to address our city/parish leadership about a particular concern or a great new idea or suggestion? You can! Learn how from a short video tutorial that is now available thanks to Simon Mahan and the Lafayette Electrical Discussion

Our Lafayette City-Parish Council has nine members, with one member representing each of nine districts. It meets twice per month at 5:30 PM in the City-Parish Council Auditorium of the City-Parish Hall at the corner of University and St. Landry. Usually, meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday, but you should check the on-line schedule in case holidays or other reasons led to a rescheduling. Unrestricted public comment is accepted only at the second monthly meeting (that is, usually the third Tuesday of the month).

The Lafayette Public Utilities Authority (LPUA) is the governing authority of the Utilities Department and consists of five City-Parish Council members whose districts include 60 percent or more of persons/citizens residing within the boundaries of the city of Lafayette.  The LPUA meets regularly on the first and third Tuesday of the month in City-Parish Hall at 4:30 p.m. prior to the full Council meeting.

Lafayette Council meetings and LPUA meetings are aired live on AOC 2 which is channel 16 on Cox Cable and channel 4 on LUS Fiber Cable. The meetings are also rebroadcast at later dates; check cable schedules for times.


Click here to view and download the Council's public comment rules and request form (the Blue Card).